Your past will devastate your family. But your lies could destroy them. What would YOU do?
Sometimes a lie can split your life in two. There is “before”, and there is “after”. Try as you might – you can never go back.
When Lydia was a teenager, she made a decision that ruined her family’s life. They’ve spent the last thirty years living with the consequences and doing their best to pretend it never happened. Lydia’s husband, the gorgeous and reliable Mark, and her two teenage children know nothing about that summer back in 1982. And that’s the way Lydia wants it to stay. The opportunity to come clean is long gone and now it’s not the lie that matters, it’s the betrayal of hiding the truth for so long.
When someone from the past turns up as a parent at the school gates, Lydia feels the life she has worked so hard to build slipping through her fingers. The more desperate she becomes to safeguard her family, the more erratic her behaviour becomes. But when the happiness of her own teenage son, Jamie, hangs in the balance, Lydia is forced to make some impossible decisions. Can she protect him and still keep her own secret – and if she doesn’t, will her marriage and family survive?
From the author of THE ISLAND ESCAPE comes a powerful and heartbreaking story, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

After reading all of the Robert Bryndza’s I could get my hands on, I confess I searched for a writer as good as Rob. Not easy, since he is a master. But, his publisher, Bookouture is behind many other fantastic reads and that’s how I discovered Kerry Fisher’s work. I read After the Lie over the holiday break, while we lounged at my French parents-in-law’s place and I didn’t have to cook for a change! Bliss. Grâce à ma belle-mère.

At first, I wasn’t 100% convinced of the set-up of this domestic suspense novel because Fisher asks us to suspend disbelief that her main character wouldn’t spill her secrets to at least her husband with her entire life as a wife and mother hanging in the balance. Set-ups are so tricky because we don’t always instantly love main characters and they can come across as too weak and unable to take action. Lydia early choices made me yell into my Kindle, “C’mon!! Just tell Mark what you did!”

But then, Fisher levels up big time with her story. Lydia’s later choices get worse and worse and that became very interesting. I had to keep reading to see how and if she’d get out of the huge hole she was digging for herself.

Ultimately, I loved the ending of this gripping novel. It’s well crafted and told with a lot of humour yet solemnity so it’s a great mix that draws you in and keeps you intrigued. She has a fab-looking new suspense novel out on February 24, 2017, The Secrets of Second Wives. I will be reading!

Discover Kerry Fisher’s great books: Amazon UK and Amazon US. Find out more about her at kerryfisherauthor.com.

Rating:

unnamedunnamedunnamedunnamed

 

 

61G7LusEo9L._UX250_Lizzie Harwood loves her home country, New Zealand, but has somehow ended up living in 7 other countries so far, from France to Sweden to Australia to…’Xamnesia.’ (Read her humorous travel memoir to discover ‘Xamnesia.’)

When Lizzie isn’t escorting her wayward children to school on Stockholm’s metro and asking them to please stop meowing (they claim to be ‘part cat’)… she is the Amazon best-selling author of humorous memoirs and suspense novels, and editor/cheerleader to authors around the world. See editordeluxe.com and lizzieharwoodbooks.com for more.

Leave a Comment

Join the conversation! Have your say: